Inequality Reflection: Mexico, India and the U.S

Story by Pedro Falcon | falcon.p@husky.neu.edu Photo by Madlen Gubernick | gubernick.ma@husky.neu.edu “We reserve the right of admission”, I read on the door of McDonalds as I excitedly walked into the fast food chain on a night in Kolkata. I didn’t really pay attention to the sign, I was craving food and French fries — nothing in…

The Truth About Hill Tribes

Story and photo by Caroline Boschetto | boschetto.c@husky.neu.edu The day that the deafening military helicopter descended upon eight-year old Niti’s Akha village in northern Thailand was the last day that she saw her father for over twenty years. Never having had contact with the people, culture, or technology outside the bounds of her isolated hill tribe,…

Earthquake Aftermath for Nepal

Story and photo by Katie Brown | brown.k@husky.neu.edu Tucked away in a remote corner of the world, Nepal is perhaps easy to miss amongst a long list of struggling, underdeveloped nations, especially when looking with American eyes. On the surface, its story is all too familiar: a narrative of political unrest, newfound democracy, and an undereducated,…

Turkish Elections

Story by Audrey Pence | pence.a@husky.neu.edu Photo by Madlen Gubernick | gubernick.ma@husky.neu.edu “Hah-day-pey”, I overheard in the midst of an interview being conducted by my Turkish coworker. We were out getting opinions on the street about the Armenian Genocide for a piece for CNN, but we couldn’t help but wrap up the conversation with a twist to…

War Crimes in South Ossetia

Story by Tim Ballesteros | ballesteros.t@husky.neu.edu Photo by Madlen Gubernick | gubernick.ma@husky.neu.edu Over a quarter-century has passed since the collapse of the Soviet Union, but stability has yet to be attained in all of the former Soviet Bloc countries. A major contention among some of these countries was the decision to align with either the East or…

Mr. China Visits Northeastern

Story by Kristen Montana | Montana.k@husky.neu.edu Jack Perkowski is Mr. China. He is well-known as a successful American businessman and one of the pioneers of foreigners investing over $500 million in China. Perkowski is the founder of ASIMCO Technologies, one of the largest producers of automotive components in China, with more than $500,000 worth of sales….

American Media Coverage of North Korea

Story by Kelly Kasulis | k.kasulis94@gmail.com Photo by Joe Thomas | thomas.j@husky.neu.edu Headlines about North and South Koreans reuniting at Mount Kumgang resort last week evoke a different feeling than those of last August, when two South Korean soldiers were permanently maimed when a landmine detonated in the DMZ and a subsequent exchange of open fire ensued….